Useful websites

There are a large number of organisations in Scotland which provide specialist support to members of the Armed Forces Community and other groups. These websites may be a good starting point for accessing this support or to find other useful services. Our funders also provide support.

Age Scotland www.ageuk.org.uk/scotland  help for older people, their carers and families in Scotland, with information resources and a helpline for information, friendship and advice

Combat Stress  www.combatstress.org.uk  the UK’s leading veterans mental health charity, and 24 hour helpline

Counselling Directory www.counselling-directory.org.uk for help in finding a counsellor or psychotherapist in your area

Legion Scotland  www.legionscotland.org.uk helps ex – services men and women of all ages across Scotland adapt to civilian life by providing community, friendship and practical advice

NHS Inform Health Rights for Veterans  www.nhsinform.co.uk/veteranshealth provides information on priority NHS treatment for veterans in Scotland as well as links to useful organisations

Military Matters  www.housingoptionsscotland.org.uk/projects…/military-matters helps people who are currently serving and veterans access housing

Poppyscotland  www.poppyscotland.org.uk provides financial support to those who have served in any of the Armed Forces, be it regular or reserve. This includes widows/widowers and dependants.

Thistle Foundation www.thistle.org.uk/supportforveterans offer lifestyle management programmes to support veterans who need help adjusting to civilian life

Venture Trust Positive Futures Programme  www.venturetrust.org.uk/programmes/positive-futures-programme/ provides specialist support to military veterans struggling with the transition to civilian life through a programme of personal development

Veterans Assist Scotland  www.veterans-assist.org a resource website with links to a wide range of information to help veterans and their families access the services they need

Veterans UK  www.veterans-uk.info the MOD service for veterans